April 2018: Friendly Fires & Tiga

One of my aims for this year was to find some new music every single month to ensure I went back to focusing on the discovery of new music. So every month, I’ll post a quick update with the artist or tracks I’m loving/have discovered that month.


Friendly Fires – Love Like Waves

If you’ve read my blog for a long time, it will not be surprising to you that the new Friendly Fires song is featuring on my blog in April’s music round up. My favourite band are back with a bang(er)* which is set to become a summer favourite on everyone’s stereo, most definitely mine of course.

I was at the Brixton gig in April (which was a great start to my birthday weekend btw) and it was just such a special night. Friendly Fires being back completely kickstarted my love for music and discovering new songs again which is something I’d fallen away from and forgotten about over the last couple of years.

Back to this track though and it’s great. I love it – it’s summery, it’s beautiful and like all good Friendly Fires tracks, it just makes you want to dance.

Friendly Fires – Love Like Waves (Alex Metric Remix)

For the remix fiends among you, here’s the Alex Metric remix of ‘Love Like Waves’ and if you haven’t already heard it, give it a listen as it is so bloody good!

Tiga – You’re So Special

Finally, the new track from Tiga is an atmospheric wonder with great beats and it really is just a great dubby house gem of a track. I first heard this on Lauren Laverne’s 6Music show and it really was one of those songs where you just stop what you are doing to take it all in and appreciate just how brilliant it is. This is another one which is straight on the summer playlist and will be getting a lot of listens from me this year.

*Sorry for my awful puns!

Credits

Image from Spotify

Leave a comment