Books: What I Read in 2017 & What I’ll Be Reading in 2018

Last year, I made it my mission to make more time to do the things I love and one of those things is reading. As a result, I aced my reading challenge for 2017 by reading 12 books instead of just 10. It may not sound like a lot of books but I’m just glad that I made more time for me and doing the things that I love. Reading on my morning commute has definitely helped me to ace my target and has made for a much more relaxing journey to work in the process.

So below is six of the best books that I read last year from crime fiction and spy drama to a couple of great autobiographies, these are some of the books I really enjoyed reading over the last 12 months.

Sister by Rosamund Lupton

A sister fights to prove that her sister was murdered in order to get justice but this heart-breaking story is full of twists and turns. A truly great read and one that many will enjoy.

A Legacy of Spies by John Le Carre

This book was released last year and is set years after Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and the events of that novel. This book follows Peter Guillam, Smiley’s work colleague, as he has to relive past cases and lives as the current Secret Service look to piece together what really happened in those days. It’s a thrilling read and like all of LeCarre’s writing truly masterful and genius in its storytelling and suspense. This much talked-about and much awaited novel did not disappoint.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

The book that sparked the award-winning series is nothing short of brilliant. There are slight differences between book and TV series but it takes nothing away from the story, the shocks, twists and turns all remain. As a character, Jane is more relatable in the book than in the show I feel and the differing POV’s used throughout add an extra layer to the story as there are many different facets all playing out at once. If you loved the show, you’ll love the book but regardless this is a very good read.

john le carre book in black and white on desk

The Power by Naomi Alderman

One of last year’s most talked about books and for good reason, this novel was utterly wonderful and one of the best books in the feminist/dystopian genre I’ve read since the great Atwood herself. It’s a timely novel which is why I think this was lauded as much as it was last year but regardless it is still an excellent piece of writing and more than worth a read.

The Pigeon Tunnel by John Le Carre

Another LeCarre but this time his autobiography which I was extremely excited and intrigued about reading. Such a great writer must surely have such a great backstory and LeCarre does. He is a man that has lived a wonderful life and loves his work and he shows no sign of slowing down anytime soon. For me, it was great to find out more about one of my favourite authors and if you love LeCarre’s work then I’m sure you will enjoy this novel.

Just Kids by Patti Smith

I bought this book a long time ago now but never got around to reading it for one reason or another but I’m glad I finally picked it up in 2017 as it is a wonderfully put together piece of work by a true artist. Patti Smith is an icon for so many reasons and her tales of early life only made me respect her and her art even more. Whether you are a diehard fan or not, there is so much in this book to enjoy and the writing makes these stories so beautifully told.

book and cup of tea

What I’m looking forward to reading in 2018:

  • The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman
  • Mythos by Stephen Fry
  • The Night Manager by John LeCarre
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling
  • All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Leave a comment